Mahsem Repeats As NACC Pitcher Of The Year

Mahsem Repeats As NACC Pitcher Of The Year

MILWAUKEE ( - Wisconsin Lutheran College's Abby Mahsem (South Milwaukee, Wis.) has been named the Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Softball Pitcher of the Year for the second straight season, it was announced Thursday as the 2019 postseason awards were announced by the league office. Additionally, Karah Ritacco (Chicago, Ill.) and Gracie Wilson (Deerfield, Wis.) were named Second Team All-NACC.

Mahsem leads all NACC pitchers with a 1.73 earned run average and 132 strikeouts. She has posted a 12-10 record in 142 innings over 24 appearances, including 19 starts, and also has a save. She has a pair of 10-strikeout performances to her credit in NACC play - March 31 against Alverno and April 24 against Lakeland while just missing the mark on three other occasions. Opponents hit just .246 against Mahsem, who averages 6.51 strikeouts per outing. She also has seven shutouts to her credit this season. At the plate, Mahsem boats a team-best .367 batting average and a .569 slugging percentage with three home runs and 20 RBI. This is the third NACC postseason honor for Mahsem and her second straight First Team selection. 

Ritacco, who leads the Warriors with 23 runs batted in, has posted 41 hits on the season with two doubles and two triples. The junior outfielder has scored 16 runs while batting .366, including a .382 mark in NACC play. Ritacco has eight multi-hit performances, highlighted by a 4-for-4 outing with three RBI April 24 as WLC defeated Lakeland 8-0. This is the first NACC postseason award for Ritacco.

Wilson, who is also being honored by the NACC for the first time in her career, is tied for the team lead with 41 hits, posting a team-leading .427 on-base percentage with 12 walks and 16 stolen bases. The sophomore shortstop was caught stealing just once in 17 attempts while scoring a team-high 30 runs. Wilson recorded a .957 fielding percentage with 46 assists and 65 putouts. She tallied 15 multi-hit games while scoring multiple runs in eight contests.

The conference's three other major award winners were Aurora's Elaine Walker (Position Player of the Year), Concordia Wisconsin's Gina Followell (Freshman of the Year), and Concordia Wisconsin's Steve Crook (Coach of the Year).

The No. 6 Warriors face No. 3 Aurora today in the first game of the 2019 NACC Tournament. First pitch is scheduled for 12:30 p.m. at Spartan Athletic Park in Montgomery, Illinois. Live stats and video will be available at This is WLC's second straight NACC Tournament appearance and fifth overall.

Related Links